Need To Breathe

So what, it has been a year! It has been crazy how the year has passed, but it is time I get back to putting my thoughts on paper or in this case blog!

There is a story told about the philospher Socrates about how he was lecturing to a group of students around a body of water. One of the students posed a question to Socrates, “When, great teacher, do I know when I am truly seeking knowledge.” Without answering the student Socrates got up and walked over to him, he then pushed the students head underwater and when the student finally tried pushing up for air Socrates let him go. When the student had collected his composure Socrates said to him, “when you desire knowledge as desperatly as you were desiring air to breathe you know you are truly seeking knowledge.”

This can be applied to us as Christians; when we desire God as much as we desire air to breathe, only then can we be assured that we are seeking his will.

~ by evanbryant on August 30, 2010.

3 Responses to “Need To Breathe”

  1. Love this! 🙂

  2. Love it! 🙂

    • Thanks…I haven’t been on here enough lately and written thoughts down…you have now encouraged me to get back to work! I have decided to put facebook time aside and spend more time in the word, so I will be on here more as well! Hope you are having a great week and if I am right, I am guessing I have the right Loren when I say I will see you on friday night! Have a great one and be blessed!

Leave a comment