Cheap Grace?

I was driving the other day near home, when I passed a church sign that read, “Free ticket to heaven. Details inside.”  While I drove by it, I thought, what a catchy statement and the further I drove away from the sign the more and more mad I became.  I do realize that the grace of Christ is what allows us to live eternally with him, however I think many people think free and they think CHEAP.  Well it may be free, but it is far from cheap.  For instance, if someone gives you a free ticket to a concert that they received from venue putting on the show, the venue is losing (COSTLY) revenue by you getting that free ticket!  Well the same goes for this SO CALLED Free ticket to heaven.  It sounds like we are riding on God’s wallet, rather than understanding it COST way more than his wallet, it COST him his only son!  I understand that this church may have meant well, but I feel like our biggest problem as a society as a whole is we are looking for the easy way out of everything and we may fail to realize it cost someone their life for the free ticket to exist.  I am pretty sure your free concert ticket didn’t cost a life, but your opportunity to share life with Christ did.  Our works don’t get us there, but as written in scripture, show me your works and I will show you your faith.  Works/sacrifice is an overflow of our understanding that GRACE IS NOT CHEAP and should spur us on to cost us!

I think the following song lyrics wrap up my idea best (ONE OF MY FAVORITES ALL TIME):

Jesus paid it all,
All to Him I owe;
Sin had left a crimson stain,
He washed it white as snow.

~ by evanbryant on October 26, 2010.

Leave a comment