It is our job to plant and water, not GROW!

First post in a while, but it has been hitting me like a ton of bricks since returning from St. Louis this past thursday!

WHY IS THERE NO CHANGE?

I know this may offend a couple of my Clemson folk who may read it, but I am not talking about anyone specifically that went on the trip.  Close to 400 Clemson students went on a mission trip to St. Louis this week and it had to have been one of the most incredible times in my life to see growth and excitement about Christ, however I came home feeling like for some it may have been missed and that was discouraging.  The whole trip back this was all I could think about and many wondered what was wrong with me as many do when I am quite, but it was this simple thing.

WHY IS THERE NO CHANGE?

Actually as we were pulling up in Clemson Megan (Sorry if you read this and it is Meagan) from another group came up to me with a huge smile on her face asking me if I was glad to be back and my response was actually NO!  I don’t think she knew what I was thinking and I am pretty sure she thought I was just grumpy from driving 10 hours with little to no break, but it was actually because I knew for some their lives would remain the same as before they left.

WHY IS THERE NO CHANGE?

I get so frustrated and it is not from my wanting to be Christ himself, because that is where satan went wrong, but it is from the passion to see people as Brad would say (NOT), “Bust hell wide open”!  I want so badly for lives to be changed and lived soley for Christ, but the response I received from him in prayer is that “IT IS MY JOB TO DO THE SAVING”, and it is YOUR/OUR job to do the telling!

“What, after all, is Apollos? And what is Paul? Only servants, through whom you came to believe—as the Lord has assigned to each his task. I planted the seed, Apollos watered it, but God made it grow. So neither he who plants nor he who waters is anything, but only God, who makes things grow. The man who plants and the man who waters have one purpose, and each will be rewarded according to his own labor. For we are God’s fellow workers; you are God’s field, God’s building.” 1 Cor. 3:5-9

This scripture came to mind to comfort me in knowing that my job is to do my one purpose the best I can and leave the rest in God’s hands….after all, I am not the one that does the GROWING/SAVING!

Prayer:  Lord, grant me peace in knowing that my role is to serve your people/you with all I have and presenting the gospel with integrity by the way I live my life, that you may never be shamed!  PLEASE HELP ME UNDERSTAND THAT I CAN’T MAKE PEOPLE CHANGE, BUT THAT I CAN SHARE YOU WITH THEM THROUGH THE WAY I LIVE MY LIFE, Amen.

~ by evanbryant on March 21, 2009.

Leave a comment